Art & Design

Turner Prize 2012

Paul Noble

The Turner Prize is a contemporary art award that was set up in 1984 to celebrate new developments in contemporary art. It is awarded each year to a British artist for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding. Nominations are invited each year and the prize is judged by an independent jury that changes annually. The four shortlisted artists present works in a show normally held at Tate Britain before the winner is announced in December. Artists are not judged on their show at Tate. The decision is based on the work for which they were nominated.

Luke Fowler

The four artists that have been nominated for this year Turner prize are: video installation artist Elizabeth Price, fine art draftsman Paul Noble, filmmaker Luke Fowler and performance artist Spartacus Chetwynd. All four have already began the preparation work for the Turner prize exhibition, which opens at Tate Britain on 2 October, 2012. The winner will be announced on 3 December, 2012.

Spartacus Chetwynd

Elizabeth Price